Tri-State Speedway News & Publicity


Posted September 23, 2013

     Haubstadt, IN - September 20, 2013 - The Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint
Car Series will be returning to action with an appearance at
Tri-State Speedway on Saturday night September 28th.  It will be the
sixth appearance for the series at Haubstadt this season.
     The program that evening will also include the ALMS Late Models and
the UMP Open Wheel Modifieds.  This fall event is new to the schedule
this season.  The triple header, promoted as the Class Track Fall
Roundup, is an ambitious effort to provide fans with an optimum
program to include three of the most popular classes of race cars on
dirt on the same night.  Wheel standing and fender bending action
will accompany side by side and bumper to bumper racing all around
the quarter mile oval.  The season is winding down.  Only two more
race dates remain on the respective MSCS and Tri-State Speedway
     The Midwest Sprint Car Series will be running for $2,000 to win in a
25 lap feature.  The late models will also be running for a top prize
of $2,000.  Reserved seats are available for an additional $3 per
seat.  Tickets may be ordered in advance by calling 812-768-6025.
Adult general admission is $22, student age price is $15, and
children 12 and under are admitted free.
     Midwest Sprint Car Series action so far this season has produced 4
different winners.  Kevin Thomas Jr. leads the pack in season points
and in victories.  He has collected four feature wins.  Daron
Clayton, Chris Windom, and Robert Ballou have also notched wins.
Clayton's win came at Tri-State Speedway as did all of Thomas' wins.
The top five in MSCS points are separated by just 40 points.  Rookie
Bradley Sterrett is sixth.  Carson Short, another rookie driver, just
moved up to twelfth in points.
     The Sunoco ALMS late models have never competed at Tri-State
Speedway.  Tracks that the series races at are divided into two
regions.  Tri-State Speedway is in the West Region of ALMS.  The
current points leader is veteran Kevin Weaver.  The top five in
points includes Brandon Sheppard, Brandon Thirlby, Ryan Unzicker, and
Brian Shirley.  The defending national champion is Brian Ruhlman.
     The UMP Modifieds have competed all season at Tri-State Speedway.
Zach Fair of Petersburg, IN, has become one of the leading drivers at
the track.  He won both modified races in May.  Plus he has finished
second at Haubstadt in the last two features held.  Overall he has
finished in the top five for the feature at six out of seven races
held.  Veteran Dave Beck holds four top five finishes this season.
     Levi Kissinger of Mt. Vernon, IN, and Stephen Schnapf of Newburgh,
IN,  were victorious at the two most recent modified events.
Kissinger also holds a pair of runner-up finishes.  Trent Young won
the Tri-State Speedway season opener.  Devin Gilpin and Mike Harrison
won the two Summit Modified National events at mid season.
     Race Time at Tri-State Speedway is at 7:30 P.M. C.D.T.  Hot Laps and
practice usually start at least an hour earlier.  The pit gate opens
at 3:30 in the afternoon.



Share |