Tri-State Speedway News & Publicity

Stockon Wins the Harvest Cup

Posted October 12, 2012

     Haubstadt, IN - October 6, 2012.  Chase Stockon of Elizabethtown, IN,
became the first driver this season to put back to back wins together
in the Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint Car Series.  Stockon won the
second annual Harvest Cup Saturday night at the Tri-State Speedway.
The victory was once again accomplished in convincing style.  Stockon
started on the front row and led every lap.  He stretched his lead
and was lapping cars at the back of the field by lap nine.
     The victory was worth $4,000.  It was Stockon's fifth MSCS career
feature victory.  He was behind the wheel of the Laura Stockon
Thirty-Two Racing Team entry sponsored by The Superior Tank &
Trailer, First Financial Bank, and Sprint Lift.  It was "Showtime" in
the Winner's Circle.  "What an awesome race track.  The cushion held
the car and we won our second in a row from the outside of the front
     Shane Cottle was also in a hurry.  The Kokomo, IN, driver started
eighteenth in the twenty car field and powered his way up to finish
second.  The effort came despite immense odds.  "We struggled all
night.  An axel broke in hot laps.  In the heat I couldn't get it to
stay in gear."  Then an improved second place finish in the B Main
secured a spot for him in the A.  During the feature he appeared to
be the only driver fast enough to race with Stockon but he had to
catch him first.  Cottle's charge was obvious as a trail of smoke
followed the car.  As the 30 laps passed the spirited effort earned
him the Keizer Aluminum Wheels Hard Charger of the Race Award.
     Josh Burton seemed to be pleased with his third place feature finish.
 "This is the best we have done here."  Burton was in the top five
battle for the entire main event.  Donny Brackett and Wes McIntyre
rounded out the top five for the Harvest Cup.  Brady Short, Dakota
Jackson, Chase Briscoe, Robert Ballou, and C.J. Leary formed the
second five.
     Eleventh went to Jon Stanbrough.  The driver in that position always
receives the Wilwood Tuff Brakes Award.  Stanbrough spent the entire
race working deep in the pack. He had been involved in a second lap
incident with Brandon Mattox in turn two that eliminated Mattox's car
and sent Stanbrough to the tail.
     Although at a disadvantage, Stanbrough worked for opportunities to
improve his position.  He also had to keep Robert Ballou in sight.
The two were just 9 points apart in the quest for the series season
championship.  Ballou would finish ahead of him in ninth but
Stanbrough had done well enough to protect his points lead.  Jon
Stanbrough won the  2012 Hoosier Tire MSCS Championship.  Honors were
bestowed after the feature with trophies being presented trackside.
The MSCS Car Owners trophy was awarded to Daryl Tate & Dan Roberts at
a trackside ceremony following the night's features.
     Heat races were won by Kevin Thomas Jr., Brady Short, and Chase
Stockon.  The first heat race paired up the two championship
contenders and the two Rookie of the Year contenders.  There were
important races within the race.  Rookie point leader Chet Williams
arrived at the track just in time to start the heat after being
involved in a wedding late that afternoon.  Rookie contender Brian
Karraker finished two spots ahead of Williams and both transferred to
the B Main.  Again Karraker finished two spots ahead of Williams.
     The difference between the two rookie drivers in the B Main was the
opportunity Karraker needed.  In finishing fourth he took the last
transfer to the feature and the availability of additional points.
He would start 20th.  He had to finish 16th or better in the A Main
to become the Rookie of the Year.  Karraker finished 12th.  Brian
Karraker made up a 10 point deficit in one night to become the 2012
MSCS Rookie of the Year.  He was awarded the trophy following the

     Levi Kissinger  of Mt. Vernon, IN, won the UMP Open Wheel Modified
feature to conclude the racing program at Tri-State Speedway.  The
feature paid $1,000 to win.  It was Kissinger's first win at the
track this season.  Kissinger enjoyed a perfect night in also winning
the first heat race.
     Stephen Schnapf of Newburgh, IN,  finished in the runner-up spot
followed by Willie Madison, Dave Beck, and Ken Schrader.  Schnapf has
had an outstanding season consisting of  2 wins early in the season
along with four second and two third place finishes. It was Madison's
best finish of the season.  Beck won the B Main earlier in the
evening.  Longtime NASCAR driver Kenny Schrader was making his second
appearance of the season at Tri-State Speedway.  Brandon McDowell and
Shawn Cates won the other two heat races.

    The Harvest Cup concluded the 2012 season for the Hoosier Tire Midwest
Sprint Car Series and served as the final race of the season at
Tri-State Speedway.



Share |