Tri-State Speedway News & Publicity


Posted October 20, 2018

  Haubstadt, IN - October 13, 2018 -  C.J. Leary won the Harvest Cup signifying the conclusion of the racing season at Tri-State Speedway. It was also the final event in 2018 for both the Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint Car Series and the Lucas Oil POWRi WAR Sprints.  This year's event was co-sanctioned by the two organizations.

     Leary quickly moved into the lead on lap three and continued to hold the lead throughout the 30 lap feature.  The program was a complete sweep for the Greenwood, IN, driver.  He had already set the overall fastest time in group qualifying with a lap of 13.136 seconds.  Then he followed up the deed by winning the third heat race.  There was no doubt who had the fastest machine in the field.  The victory was worth $5,000.  It was the third MSCS feature win this season for Leary.

    The first two laps were led by Kyle Cummins after starting on the pole.  The Princeton, IN, driver had won the first two features in a special series of three races to be sanctioned by WAR.  Weather contributed to the third stop being moved to Tri-State Speedway. Cummins had an opportunity to win a bonus of $20,000 if he could win all three races.  He had won his heat race and had a real chance to win the Bell Racing USA Triple Crown Challenge.  Kyle would finish fourth in the feature this time out.

    The two drivers sharing the podium with Leary were Kent Schmidt and Justin Grant.  Schmidt, who races out of Owensville, IN, turned in his best performance of the year in finishing second.  He stayed in contention after passing Robert Ballou on lap 6.  Grant had moved the Topp Sprinter into third by the halfway mark.  Jarett Andretti moved up to finish fifth.  Second heat winner Robert Ballou was sixth. Fourth heat winner Chase Stockon was seventh.  Chet Williams, Donny Brackett, and Aric Gentry rounded out the top ten.

     In a pre-race presentation Championship trophies and Hoosier Tire award jackets were presented to 2018 MSCS Champion Carson Short and the car owner Richard Short.  Eric Perrott received the MSCS Rookie of the Year Award.  The Shorts are from Marion, IL, and Perrott is from Sumner, IL.  The POWRi WAR Wildcard League Champion Landon Simon and MMSA Champion Cody Trammel were also recognized at that time.

     Carson Short also received the Wilwood Tuff Brakes Award for his mid-pack finish in the feature.  Chet Williams was the Keizer Aluminum Wheels Hard Charger of the Race in gaining 8 spots during the main event.  Donny Brackett won the B Main.

     The feature was red flagged two times.  Brandon Mattox flipped in turn two on lap nine.  Landon Simon brought out the red on the opposite end of the track on lap 14.  The first heat was also action packed.  Five of the nine cars entered managed to finish.

     In other action Brandon McDowell of Boonville, IN, won the UMP Modified feature.  It was win number three at Haubstadt for McDowell this season.  Dustin Beck, Zach Fair, Dane Heilman and Dennis Ponder rounded out the top five.  Fair and McDowell won the heat races. Dave Beck was the fastest qualifier.

     The MMSA Mini-Sprints closed out the show.  The 20 lap feature went to Brad Strunk over Rod Henning and Justin Lewis.  It was Strunk's second consecutive feature win at the speedway.  Cody Trammel and Dean Parker rounded out the top five.  Henning, Brandon Coffey, and Parker won the three heat races.

__Provided as News and Information for MSCS and Tri-State Speedway.__     




Share |