Tri-State Speedway News & Publicity


Posted September 16, 2018


     Haubstadt, IN - September 15, 2018 -  Kevin Thomas Jr. put the Hoffman Auto Racing Mean Green Machine into the lead on lap 37 of the feature Saturday night at Tri-State Speedway and became the first driver to win a third Haubstadt Hustler main event.  This was the 11th year for this annual event which pays $10,000 to win.  The Cullman, AL, driver had won the Hustler last season and also in 2013.

     Twenty-three MSCS and USAC sprint cars started the 40 lap co-sanctioned event.  Kent Schmidt led the first lap from the pole.  C.J. Leary then grabbed the lead and would set a blistering pace to lead the majority of the race.  Kevin Thomas Jr. took second on lap 4.  K.T. kept pace with Leary lap after lap, completing a pass with just 4 laps to go to drop Leary to second.

     Thomas was exuberant. "It was an awesome race!  C.J. is so dominant here.  The lapped cars were good race cars.  It was tough to pass them.  That is the unfortunate part about leading.  It is so much fun to win races! This track is where I cut my teeth."

     Newcomer Jason McDougal and veteran Dave Darland would move into contention during the race to finish third and fourth.  McDougal adapted quickly to the demands of the speedway.  It was the first appearance at the track for the Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, driver.  MSCS Points leader Carson Short finished fifth.  Short earned the Keizer Aluminum Wheels Hard Charger Award in improving upon a 15th starting position.

     Tyler Courtney, Robert Ballou, Chase Stockon, Kyle Cummins, and Donny Brackett finished sixth to tenth in the feature.  Stephen Schnapf was eleventh and received the Wilwood Tuff Brakes Award.  Schnapf brought out the second yellow of the race after doing a 360.  He restarted at the back and almost finished in the top ten.  The first caution period placed Chris Windom's car in the work area.  He rejoined the race but found himself two laps down.

     There was one red flag.  That came out after Brady Bacon flipped on lap 13 of the feature.  He was running fourth at the time.  Earlier he had won the first heat race.  The other three heats were won by Stephen Schnapf, Chris Windom, and Kevin Thomas Jr.  The fastest overall time for the evening was set by Robert Ballou.  His 13.810 seconds lap was the best in group qualifying.

     Stan Beadles of Owensville, IN, won the 25 lap UMP Open Wheel Modified feature.  It was his first feature victory at the track this season.  He also set the overall fast time in group qualifying and finished third in his heat race.   Zach Fair finished second in the feature and he was followed by Matt Lane.  The race produced 3 different leaders and also 3 caution flags.  Dustin Beck, and Brandon McDowell rounded out the top 5. Lance Foreman and Matt Lane took the 2 heat races.

     Tri-State Speedway will be holding the last race of the season on Saturday night October 13.  If a rain date is needed it will be on Sunday the 14th.  This event is the annual Harvest Cup which pays $5,000 to win for the sprint cars.  The POWRi Sprints will be joining the MSCS Sprints this year to make this a co-sanctioned event.  The UMP Open Wheel Modifieds will be running for $1,000 to win that night.  In addition the MMSA Mini-Sprints will be racing to make it a triple header.



Share |