Tri-State Speedway News & Publicity

KT Jr First in Harvest Cup

Posted October 10, 2016

     Haubstadt, IN - October 8, 2016 -  The “Harvest Cup” for the Hoosier
Tire Midwest Sprint Car Series at Tri-State Speedway provided an
exciting climax to the 2016 racing season.  The 30 lap feature event
for the sprint cars stayed green from beginning to end.  Those
drivers dropping out eased their cars into the infield.  The drivers
continuing performed exceptionally and there were not any incidents.
No yellows!  No reds!  Just continuous racing action!

     Kevin Thomas Jr. had the fastest car and proved it in leading all
qualifiers with a 13.255 second lap to begin the evening.  The
Alabama driver also won the third heat and wrapped up the evening in
winning the $3,000 Harvest Cup first place money.  Thomas was
piloting the Jeremy Ottinger owned entry sponsored by Franklin
Equipment and CEP Concrete.  It was Thomas’ first MSCS win this
season and fifth MSCS all time victory.

    Chase Stockon would start on the pole for the feature alongside 2016
MSCS Rookie of the Year Tyler Hewitt.  Thomas started in the second
row.  Stockon took the early lead but Thomas began diving into the
turns and had the lead in a half dozen laps.  From that point on he
sped away as packs of drivers behind him fought to improve their
positions.  Thomas flew around any lapped traffic and the race for
second was well behind him.

    Kyle Cummins was persistent and took second place honors in the
feature.  Earlier he won a heat race with a fourth turn last lap pass
that virtually threaded the needle.  Carson Short would finish third
in the feature.  Jarett Andretti was fourth after being at the center
of the battle for second and third.  Critter Malone not only finished
fifth but took the Keizer aluminum Wheels Hard Charger of the Race
Award after gaining 11 positions in the process!

    The second five included Chase Stockon, Brady Short, Aaron Farney,
second heat winner Brian Karraker, and Tyler Hewitt.  J.T. Stapp took
the Wilwood Tuff Brakes Award with an eleventh place finish.

    Critter Malone won the MSCS B Main.  He also came from the back in
this one after experiencing some misfortune in a heat race that he had
been leading.  Veteran Ted Hines was second.  Brandon Morin was third.
 Twenty six sprint cars were on hand to compete.  The field included
three drivers who were competing for the first time with the series.

    Brady Short protected his points lead with steady finishes during the
night’s events and received the MSCS Championship Trophy at a brief
awards ceremony after the feature was completed.  It was the Bedford
Blaster’s third MSCS Championship and second series title in a row.
The Championship car owner this season was Cam Pottorff of
Martinsville, IN.  Tyler Hewitt of Marion, IN, was awarded the Rookie
of the Year Award prior to heat racing action.

     Sunday night’s event was a big triple header.  Two other divisions of
race cars were in competition.  The open wheel modified and MMSA Mini
Sprints were also on the race card.
     Trent Young of Hopkinsville, KY, won the 25 lap make up feature for
the UMP Modifieds.  That event was first on the program.  Young
fished ahead of Paul Miles, Stephen Schnapf, and Josh Harris.  Young
then won the 30 lap feature for the AMS Modified Series on hand in a
special appearance.  The two feature wins in one night at one track
is a rare occurrence in racing!

     The AMS victory was his seventh in the series this season in a trek
that included victory lanes in four states.  And once again he
certainly had formable competition.  Tyler Nicely ran second, Josh
Harris third, Lucas Lee fourth, and Dustin Beck was fifth.  Nicely
and Young also won heat races as did Clay Lane and Everett Bradhan.
Zach Fair,  and Stephen Schnapf won the two B Mains.

     Ty Tilton of Lima, OH, won the feature for the Midwest Mini Sprint
Association.  The 30 car mini sprint field competed without wings
during this event.  Justin Lewis won the B Main.  The heat races were
won by Ryan Barr, Cody Trammel, Scott Bradley, and Tilton.

Provided as News and Information for MSCS and Tri-State Speedway.



Share |