Tri-State Speedway News & Publicity


Posted September 20, 2016

     Haubstadt, IN - September 17, 2016 -  Kyle Cummins collected the
$10,000 top prize in the running of the ninth annual Haubstadt
Hustler for 410 non wing sprint cars.  The Princeton, IN, driver led
the last half of the 40 lap feature for the MSCS and USAC sprint

     Cummins took over the lead on lap 20 after a battle with Tyler
Courtney that had the two drivers paired up and running side by side
on a tacky track with a heavy cushion.  Courtney led laps 8 through
19 and would finish second.  Shane Cottle rallied time and time again
in battles with drivers running in the top five to earn the third
spot for the feature.  Competitors Kevin Thomas Jr. and Chase Stockon
rounded out the top five.

     Cummins summed it up in victory lane.  “That was the toughest race of
my life.  The car was unbelievable.  Hats off to Hank Byram, Tim
Spindler, and all the people helping out!”  Cummins drives for Rock
Steady Racing out of Dupont, IN, and the car is sponsored by
Greenwell Auto Body and Tim Mason/ReMax.  Courtney had a great run at
Tri-State.  “This was my best finish.  It is the first time I’ve not
been lapped in running here!”  Cottle was pleased considering the
circumstances.  “The car was way too tight to run against that big
ole cushion.  I had to run down lower.  I let Tyler get back past me

     Pole sitter Carson Short led the first 7 laps of the feature before
flipping in the second turn.  The car was towed to the work area to
replace a rear tire and Carson rejoined the field and would finish
seventh behind Chris Windom.  Drivers Justin Grant, Brady Bacon, and
Jon Stanbrough ran eighth, ninth, and tenth.  C.J. Leary was the
Wilwood Tuff Brakes Award recipient in finishing eleventh.

     Overall fast qualifier Tyler Hewitt took a MSCS Provisional for the
feature and was on the move before he flipped on lap 21.  The racing
produced red or yellow flags five different times with the last being
for Daron Clayton with 38 laps complete.  The two time Hustler winner
had marched from a 17th starting spot up to challenge for third
before encountering problems.  Last year’s Hustler winner Brady Short
also was in the top three when his chances went up in smoke on lap

      The co-sanctioned event drew 41 competitors.  The resulting five
heat races were won by Shane Cottle, Dakota Jackson, Aaron Farney,
C.J. Leary, and Tyler Courtney.  Bret Mellenberndt flipped in the
final heat race.  Critter Malone won the C Main and was the first of
5 drivers to transfer to the B Main,  The 20 car B Main was a
victory for Brady Short over Daron Clayton and Brandon Mattox.
Short started sixth and Clayton started eighth in bringing the race
to the front.

     Sprint car veteran Jon Stanbrough took the seventh and last transfer
spot to the A.  He started 22nd in the feature and worked his way up
to a tenth place finish to earn the Keizer Aluminum Wheels Hard
Charger Award for the race.

     The next event on the schedule for the Midwest Sprint Car Series will
be the October 8th “Harvest Cup” which pays $3,000 to win.  This is
the season finale at the track and for MSCS in 2016.


     The UMP Open Wheel Modifieds also competed in three heats and a
feature.  Stan Beadles of Owensville, IN, battled his way to the
front after starting 17th and won his second modified feature in a
row at Tri-State Speedway.  Beadles completed a pass on Dustin Beck
in turn two of lap 24 to seal the win.  Beck finished second after
leading over half the race at two different intervals.  He was
followed by Clay Lane, Matt Lane, and Brandon McDowell.

     The feature spelled trouble for a lot of drivers.  A dozen of the 25
starters managed to survive the effects that caused over ten caution
periods.  Contact and spins took out cars two & three at a time.
Once turn three was nearly blocked with five cars engaged.

    The three heat races were won by Matt Lane, Clay Lane, and Jason
Perry.  The modifieds will be back in action at Tri-State Speedway on
October 8th.  In addition to that night’s regular show a make-up
feature will be held for the June 26th event that was rained out.  The
MMSA Mini Sprints will also be on the program.  For the first time at
Tri-State Speedway the minis will be competing without wings.

Provided as News and Information for Tri-State Speedway & MSCS



Share |