Tri-State Speedway News & Publicity


Posted June 27, 2016


     Haubstadt, IN - June 26, 2016 -  Bobby Pierce of Oakwood, IL, won the
Dirt Car UMP Summernationals event held at Tri-State Speedway Sunday
night.  In collecting the victory Pierce earned his second weekly
title for the 2016 summer series.  The race at Tri-State ended the
Heartland Tour portion of the annual four week long Summernationals.
Pierce won 3 of this past week’s five completed features and that
brings this year’s overall win total up to five.

     This late model race was a classic and one that will be remembered.
The field of 23 late models took their place on the track for pace
laps as the threat of rain became more and more visible.  Wind gusts
picked up dust in the infield  and distant lightning lit up the
northern sky.  The green flag waved and the race was on with cars
battling cars and the weather rapidly approaching.  Fans were both
impressed and distracted as an epic battle developed between Bobby
Pierce and Brandon Sheppard for the lead.

     Brandon Sheppard had a fast car!  He had won the previous night in
Illinois and persisted with effort after effort to somehow win this
event.  He would pass Pierce only to be passed back in the next turn.
 Bundled traffic ahead would force a temporary split of a few car
lengths before Sheppard could find the room and power to quickly make
up the distance.  The two were absolutely uncanny in trading slide
jobs and in overtaking and sorting out the slower traffic.  Lap after
lap flew by.  With less than 5 laps to go rain began.  The track was
suddenly too wet to race on!  The feature was shortened and ruled
complete with 38 laps scored.   Pierce was the winner with Sheppard
finishing second.  Ryan Unzicker was third after having led the first
third of the event.

     Timothy Culp and Michael Kloos rounded out the top five.  Mike Marlar
headed the second five which included Shannon Babb, Kent Robinson,
Rodney Melvin, and Jason Feger.  Brent Larson gained the most spots
of any driver in finishing13th.  The three late model heat races were
won by Sheppard, Pierce, and Unzicker.  The three Illinois drivers
had brought their perfected short track game to Tri-State Speedway.

     The UMP Summit Modifed Nationals events fell prey to the downpour.
The feature event had to be postponed and will be rescheduled for a
later date.  All the preliminary events were held with 41 cars

     Paul Miles, Mike Harrison, Trent Young, and Levi Kissinger won the
heat races.  Hunt Gossum won the C Main.  Joel Jenson won the B Main.
 The B and C were both action packed.  One car hit the backstretch
wall and flipped in the B.  Matt Lane finished third in the C and
second in the B as he worked his way into the feature line-up.  A
flat tire at the beginning of the 1st heat race had sent him to the
pits to wait for the last chance races.

     The next event scheduled at Tri-State Speedway is the Southern
Indiana Sprint Car Stampede on Sunday July 3rd.  The program will
include the MSCS Sprints, the MOWA Winged Sprints, and the UMP
Modifieds.  Race time is 7:30 P.M.



Share |