Tri-State Speedway News & Publicity


Posted September 29, 2015

     Haubstadt, IN - September 26, 2015 -  The Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint
Car Series drivers competed at Tri-State Speedway Saturday night
during the third annual Class Track Fall Roundup.  Kyle Cummins of
Princeton, IN, won the 25 lap feature.  The victory was his second
for this event in that he also won it in 2014.  Cummins has also won
two of the last three MSCS features held at the track this season.
The winning sprint car was the 3R deployed by the Rock Steady Racing
Team owned by Hank Byram.  The car is powered by a Cummins Race
Engine and sponsored by Pro Glide Coatings and Creative Finishing.
The winner’s share of the purse was $2,000.

     Twenty cars started the sprint car feature.  Max McGhee was the early
leader.  He started third on the field and held off pole sitter Zach
Daum for the first nine laps.  Daum left the track and competition
during a yellow flag erasing his chance for a top finish.  On the
restart Cummins was running second and he would take the lead on lap
16 with one of his patented passes down the backstretch and into turn
three.  By lap eighteen Brady Short had moved up behind him and the
two would match speed at the front of the pack for the final eight
circuits.  Short would finish second.  Kent Schmidt of Owensville,
IN, took third place with a last lap pass which dropped McGhee to
fourth place.  Brandon Mattox would finish fifth.  Mattox had the
best finish for the four drivers penalized starting positions for
reporting late to staging.

    Dakota Jackson, Jordan Kinser, Chet Williams, Aric Gentry, and Bub
Cummings made up the rest of the top ten.  Braxton Cummings was
eleventh and received the Wilwood Tuff Brakes Award.  Chet Williams,
who started twentieth, was the Keizer Aluminum Wheels Hard Charger of
the race in moving up to eighth.  Max McGhee and Kyle Cummins won the
two preliminary heat races.  Brandon Mattox earned the most passing
points for the drivers during the two heat races.

     The work area was very busy all night during the MSCS portion of the
program.  There were five caution periods during the feature with as
many as three cars receiving attention at the same time.  Dakota
Jackson made two separate stops in an effort to replace a front
shock, restarted at the back, and then raced his way to a sixth place
finish.  There were 7 drivers though who were unable to make repairs
and could not finish the event.

     The final event for the Midwest Sprint Car Series will be held on
October 10th at Tri-State Speedway.  The Harvest Cup that night will
pay $3,000 to win.  Traditionally that is the night that the series
crowns it’s new champion and rookie of the year.   Brady Short had a
good points night at the Roundup.  The 11 points Brady gained over
Carson Short was the insurance he needed to assure that he will be
the MSCS Champion for 2015.  Brandon Morin also has a lock on the
Rookie of the Year honors!


     Stephen Schnapf of Newburgh, IN, roared to his second UMP Open Wheel
Modified feature in a row this week at Tri-State Speedway.  Stan
Beadles of Owensville, IN,  finished second and claimed his highest
finish of the season.  Dave Beck, Clay Lane, and Matt Lane rounded
out the top five for the sixteen car field.  Stephen Schnapf and Clay
Lane won the heat races.

     On October 10th the modifieds will be running for $1,000 to win.  The
MMSA Mini- Sprints will also be on the race card that evening.

      The POWRi Lucas Oil National Midgets competed in a 30 lap feature.
Sixteen cars started the Ford EcoBoost Challenge event.  Former
series champion Zac Daum of Pocahontas, IL, proved to be the fastest
driver in setting a blistering pace and he won that main event.
Critter Malone was second.  These two drivers were the only two
drivers to bring cars to compete in both the sprint and midget
races.  However Malone finished a spot ahead of Daum in the sprints.

     Austin Brown, Andrew Felker, and Derek King rounded out the top five
for the midgets.  Darren Hagen would finish sixth.  Zach Daum and
Austin Brown won the two heat races.  Gage Walker, who won the August
POWRi feature held at Tri-State, was a scratch for the feature.

Provided as News & Information for Tri-State Speedway.



Share |