Tri-State Speedway News & Publicity


Posted September 20, 2015

    Haubstadt, IN - September 19, 2015 -  Brady Short made a valiant

return to victory lane at Tri-State Speedway Saturday night.  The

Mitchell, IN, driver won the biggest race of the year for non-wing
410 sprints at the track.  The Haubstadt Hustler paid $10,000 to win
and was co-sanctioned with the MSCS Sprints and USAC Sprints
competing together.  Short was at the wheel of the Cam Potorff owned
Spec Engine powered Maxim.  Primary sponsors include Sipes Body &
Glass and Indiana Stoneworks.  Don Short serves as the crew chief.
     The feature event was for a 40 lap distance.  Brady Short would start
12th in the 24 car line-up.  The front row included two time
Haubstadt Hustler winner Daron Clayton and four time MSCS Champion
Kyle Cummins.  After two complete restarts for spinning cars Cummins
shot into the lead.  Clayton began experiencing problems and pulled
into the infield.  Dakota Jackson had already took the runner-up spot
and battled driver after driver to stay in the chase for a top
finish.  Cummins was fast and stretched the lead.  By lap 18 Short
had moved through the front half of the field to take second.  With
lapped traffic a factor he was able to gain ground and the Hustler
was shaping up to be another Cummins and Short dual.
     That ended abruptly on lap 35 when Cummins made contact with a car
that had spun on the front stretch.  The car was sideways in front of
oncoming traffic and there was no where for the leader to go.  The
crash eliminated Cummin’s 3R ride from further competition.  Brady
Short now had the lead for the restart.  Kevin Thomas Jr. would take
on the challenge from second.  The two drivers would finish one two
after another very quick five laps.  Dakota Jaskson was third
followed by Brady Bacon and Chase Stockon.
     Short was elated!  “This is a huge win - $10,000!”  It was a comeback
effort after he was the one involved in a crash two weeks ago while
battling for the lead.  “Once we got to racing I was confident that
we had a good race car.  We’ll take this win!  It will pay for
parts!”  The victory was the 21st MSCS career win for Brady Short and
he now leads in all time feature wins.  It was also his 10th MSCS
feature victory this season!
     The second five for the feature included Dave Darland, Robert Ballou,
Chris Windom, C.J. Leary, and Thomas Meseraull.  Dave Darland won the
first heat race.  Ballou flipped in the fourth turn at the start of
that heat and he had to transfer to the A by placing in the semi or
B.  Robert Ballou then started 20th in the feature and the drive
forward earned him the Keizer Aluminum Wheels Hard Charger of the
Race.  Brandon Mattox won the 12 lap B Main which had a 14 car field.
 Carson Short’s night ended early on the first lap of the B when he
flipped his sprint in turn four.  Kyle Cummins, Brady Bacon, and
Donny Brackett won the other three heats.  Shane Cottle received the
Wilwood Tuff Brakes Award for finishing eleventh in the feature.
          The Midwest Sprint Car Series will be in action again Saturday
night September 26th.  That is the night for the Class Track
Fall Round-Up at Tri-State Speedway which will include the
addition of the POWRi Midgets to the program along with the
Modifieds.  It is another great event at the Haubstadt oval as
the season winds down.  The final event for MSCS and the track
is the Harvest Cup which will be on October 10th.


     Stephen Schnapf of Newburgh, IN, won the 25 lap UMP Modified feature
which completed the program Saturday night at Tri-State Speedway.  It
was his first win at the track this season and ended Zach Fair’s run
of three wins in a row.

     Schnapf started at the outside pole position for the feature and used
the high line up against the cushion to maintain the advantage over
Zach Fair and then Lance Foreman.  Fair tried repeatedly to turn
under Schnapf but the leader would have the speed coming off the
corners to hold on.  Forman took second late in the race and held off
Fair in what became a green, white, checkered finish.  Yellow flags
interrupted the modified racing six different times.  Mark Lamont and
Dustin Beck rounded out the top five.

     Stephen Schnapf and Zach Fair won the two heat races.  The modified
drivers will be running at Tri-State Speedway at both of the final
two events this season.

Provided as News & Information at Tri-State Speedway.



Share |