Tri-State Speedway News & Publicity


Posted September 17, 2014

Haubstadt, IN - September 13, 2014.  Daron Clayton of Sikeston, MO,
raced to his second “Haubstadt Hustler” win in the last three
seasons.  He became the first driver to repeat as the winner of this
race.  The 40 lap feature paid $10,000 to win and was co-sanctioned
with 32 drivers present in representing both the Hoosier Tire Midwest
Sprint Car Series and the AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car Series.
The victory was also number 12 all time in MSCS events for the
Sikeston, MO, native.
     In victory lane Clayton described the feeling of winning at
Haubstadt.  “Awesome!  It was the longest 40 laps of my life.”  He
raced his own Spike Chassis sprint car which is sponsored by the
Merry Go Round Restaurant and ProGlide Coatings.
     Daron Clayton took the lead from Kyle Cummins on lap 25 and led the
rest of the feature.  Cummins had started on the outside of row one
and powered into an early lead.  Last year’s winner Kevin Thomas Jr.
picked up the pursuit until the two made contact on lap 17 and Thomas
spun.  Daron Clayton, who had been busy working through the top ten
after starting eleventh, then moved past Jerry Coons Jr. to challenge
Cummins.  The next 7 laps were some of the most competitive of the
     With Clayton making the pass for the lead, Robert Ballou arrived to
challenge Cummins for second.  Ballou made the pass for second on lap
31.  But that move coincided with a red flag on lap 31 and the
running order reverted back to the previous lap.  So Ballou had to
make the pass again on lap 33.  The red flag had been for Nick Hale’s
flip in turn two after contact from Clayton who was in the process of
lapping him.  Clayton continued on in the lead and the running order
up front would not change.  Clayton led Ballou, Cummins, Jerry Coons
Jr., and Chase Stockon at the finish line.
     In the post race interview Ballou disclosed that he was running out
of fuel on the final restart.  “First loser is never good.  At least
we got a second place finish.”  Kyle Cummins, who was hooked up
early, relied on effort for his third place finish.  “That’s all we
had!”  Both drivers. who are at the top of the MSCS standings, gave
it their all.  Cummins and Ballou earned the same amount of MSCS
points for the night‘s efforts.
     Veteran Jon Stanbrough, Bryan Clauson, USAC Points leader Brady
Bacon, Tracy Hines, and Brian Karraker rounded out the top ten for
the feature.  Dave Darland finished 11th to collect the Wilwood Tuff
Brakes Award for this event.
     The co-sanctioned program was conducted using the passing points
system.  Heat race winners were Kyle Cummins, Jon Stanbrough, Jerry
Coons Jr., and Chase Stockon.  Cummins collected the most passing
points after starting sixth in his heat.  Carson Short won the B
     The UMP Open Wheel Modifieds competed in a 25 lap feature to conclude
the race program.  The winner for the fifth time this season was Levi
Kissinger of Mt. Vernon, IN.  Kissinger finished ahead of Zach Fair,
Tyler Nicely, Dustin Beck, and Dave Beck for their main event.
Second heat winner Brandon McDowell was sixth.  Fair and Nicely won
the other two heats.
     The next event for the Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint Car Series will be
held on September 27th at Tri-State Speedway.  The “Class Track Fall
Roundup” will be a triple header.  The ALMS Late Models will be
making a late season appearance and the modifeds will also be on the

Provided as News and Information for MSCS and Tri-State Speedway.



Share |