Tri-State Speedway News & Publicity


Posted October 15, 2017

     Haubstadt, IN - October 15, 2017 -  Saturday October 21st the Tri-State Speedway will be presenting its final racing event for this season.  The Harvest Cup that evening will pay $5,000 to win the MSCS sprint car feature!  This will be the third attempt in October to hold this particular race.  It was rescheduled after rain intervened both days during the original weekend that it was to be held.  This special event has served to conclude each racing season since 2011.
      It will be the Championship and Honors Night for the Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint Car Series.  In addition to the Midwest Sprint Car Series, the speedway will be presenting UMP Open Wheel Modified racing with $1,500 going to the winner.  The winged Midwest Mini Sprint Association will also compete in the triple header.
     When the MSCS Sprint Cars are competing at Tri-State Speedway fans have come to expect the unexpected.  Superb late race efforts, last lap challenges, and runs from deep in the pack have prevailed in 2017.  Winning requires an all out effort.  It is difficult yet some drivers have accomplished the task and then repeated it.  Kevin Thomas Jr., Kyle Cummins, and Chase Stockon have two MSCS Tri-State feature wins each.  These three might be considered as favorites to take this one final race.  With MSCS starting 21 cars for the feature, 18 other drivers will have an opportunity to take up the challenge.
     Brady Short of Mitchell, IN, already has a lock on the 2017 MCSC Points title.  The accomplishment produced his fourth MSCS title. However eight of those prestigious and preferred top ten spots in the points are undecided.  Chase Stockon of Fort Branch, IN,  is currently 10th in points.  There are another 8 drivers outside the top ten with a mathematical shot at gaining a top ten finish.  Kent Schmidt of Owensville, IN, is currently fifth in points.  Competitors Robert Ballou and Kendall Ruble still have a chance to finish in the top five.  Ruble leads in Rookie Points but the outcome remains undecided.  Ben Knight trails by 37 points.  At the end of the season there is always the race for feature money with an underlying race for points money!
     Modified drivers from across the region have been frequenting Tri-State Speedway all season.  The track continues to serve race drivers and race fans with that compelling need for speed.  They arrive to test and survey the Class Track from across Indiana as well as Kentucky and Illinois.  Dave Beck’s pair of victories leads the five Hoosier drivers that have visited victory lane.  Kentucky’s Trent Young has won three features to lead all competitors. Illinois drivers Mark Lamont and Everett Bradham have both visited the podium in posting top three finishes.  Nine features have produced 6 different winners.
     Rod Henning has truly mastered Tri-State Speedway.  The Ohio based driver has won all 3 MMSA Haubstadt features held this season.  Those giving chase and collecting repeat top 5 finishes include Andy Bradley, Jesse Vermillion, and Scott Bradley.
     Gate times and racing action will begin earlier than usual for this event.  Racing will follow opening ceremonies at 6:30 P.M.  The MSCS Champion will be crowned.  The MSCS Rookie of the Year will also be honored.  Warm-ups and group qualifying begin at 5 o’clock.  The pit gate will swing open at 2:30.  The Grandstands will open to admit fans at 3:30 in the afternoon.

Provided as News and Information for MSCS and Tri-State Speedway.



Share |