Tri-State Speedway News & Publicity


Posted October 2, 2017

     Haubstadt, IN - September 28, 2017 -  Tri-State Speedway will present its final race of this season on Saturday October 7th.  This event which is promoted as the Harvest Cup also serves as the finale as well as championship night for the Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint Car Series.  This race originated six seasons ago and now includes the MSCS 410 non wing sprint cars plus the MMSA Mini Sprints and the UMP Open Wheel Modifieds.
     MSCS Sprint Car drivers present will be competing for a purse which will award their  feature winner $5,000.  This is a substantial increase over last year’s top prize!  Sunday October 8th will serve as a pre-set rain date if needed.  Also the times have been adjusted.  Warm-ups will begin at 5 o’clock with racing set for 6:30 P.M.  Drivers are reminded that the pit gate will open at 2:30 in the afternoon with the MSCS pill draw closing at 4:15 P.M. prior to the drivers meeting.
     For MSCS the Harvest Cup is that one last opportunity to gain those valuable season points.  A larger share of the Hoosier Tire sponsored point fund is up for grabs this one last time.  The evening provides an opportunity to present certain MSCS season awards with the race fans who support the series present.  The MSCS Championship Driver, Championship Car Owner, and the Rookie of the Year awards are to be presented.
     Brady Short already holds a decisive 135 points lead over his closest rival Carson Short.  With a maximum of 70 points still available at the Harvest Cup, Brady Short will be crowned as the 2017 Hoosier Tire
Midwest Sprint Car Series Champion.  Cam Pottorff of Martinsville, IN, owns the champion’s car.  The driver who will become the runner-up is to be decided race night between Carson Short and Brandon Mattox.  Other drivers within range for a top five season finish include Kyle Cummins, Kent Schmidt, Robert Ballou, and rookie Kendall Ruble.
     Kendall Ruble of Vincennes, IN,  also leads in the MSCS Rookie of the Year points.  Ben Knight is his closest challenger.  They are close in that the two are 7th and 8th in the overall standings for the 49 active MSCS drivers.  Racing during the heats, B, or A will decide which driver will receive this year’s award.
     Five drivers have posted MSCS feature wins at Tri-State Speedway this season.  Kevin Thomas Jr. has collected the two with the biggest purses.  He won the Hoosier Sprint Nationals and the Haubstadt Hustler.  KT also won last year’s Harvest Cup!  Kyle Cummins also has two Tri-State MSCS wins in 2017 as does Chase Stockon.  Carson Short and Chris Windom have a feature win each in action at Haubstadt earlier in the season.
     To wrap up the program the UMP Modifieds will be competing for an increased purse with their feature paying $1,500 to win.  Kentucky driver Trent Young won the final two modified features at Haubstadt last season.  He also won the most recent modified feature at Tri-State this season.  It will be the fourth appearance of the season for the touring MMSA Mini Sprint group.  Ohio’s Rod Henning has won all  three mini-sprint features held so far.
     Remember that on Saturday October 7th Tri-State Speedway will be Racing-Racing-Racing!  The grandstands for the triple header will open at 3:30 P.M.  Adult tickets are $20.  Student tickets (ages
13-18) are $15.  Children age 12 and under are free!

Provided as News & Information for MSCS & Tri-State Speedway.



Share |