Tri-State Speedway News & Publicity


Posted December 19, 2014

Haubstadt, IN - Dec. 18, 2014. The 2015 racing season at Tri-State Speedway will
open on Saturday night April 18th. This will be the 58th consecutive season of operation
for the quarter mile facility. The schedule includes a dozen special events on one of the
best prepared dirt tracks in the country. Organizations contracted to visit the track and
bring their particular brand of racing includes KISS, MMSA, MOWA, MSCS, POWRi,
UMP, USAC, and WoO.
The opening event will be the Spring Showdown for the USAC and MSCS sprint cars.
The co-sanctioned race is a week earlier on the calendar than last year. The feature will
pay $5,000 to win and will attract the best of the nation’s non-wing sprint car
competitors. It will serve as the first of 3 visits to Haubstadt for the United States Auto
Club and the first of 9 shows during the season featuring the Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint
Car Series. The UMP Open Wheel Modifieds will complete the racing card on April 18th
and appear at the track a total of 11 times during the season.
The World of Outlaws Sprint Cars will make their annual appearance at Tri-State
Speedway on May 3rd. The race will be held on Sunday night which is a change from
previous years. Paul McMahan won last season’s WoO feature at Haubstadt. The race is
the first of just three races to be held at tracks in the Hoosier state. Donny Schatz is the
reigning Champion for a series promoted as the Greatest Show on Dirt.
The Memorial Weekend Classic at Tri-State on Sunday May 24th will be the sixth of
seven races on the 2014 KISS schedule. Seven races held at seven tracks will determine
who will be the King of Indiana Sprints. Each event pays $2,500 to win. This one will
be presented with the MSCS series regulars joining the action. Shane Cottle is the
defending KISS Champion. The MMSA Mini-Sprints will also make their first of two
holiday weekend appearances this season. They will return on September 6th.
The third annual Tri-State Summer Showdown is set for Saturday June 6th. The
Summit Modified feature that night will pay $1,500 to win. Besides the modifieds, the
program will now include the addition of the MSCS Sprints. The Summit Modifieds will
return a month later on Sunday July 5th when they join the UMP Dirt Car Super Late
Models for the annual Summernational Hell Tour. The Modifieds will be running for
$1,000 and the late models for $5,000. The Open Wheel Modifieds will also be racing
for $1,000 to win on May 3rd, July 18th and at the season finale on October 10th.
The Southern Indiana Sprint Car Stampede will be contested on Saturday June 27th.
Racing fans will once again see both the MOWA winged sprints and MSCS non-winged
sprints competing in separate programs on the same track the same night. Both series
will be running feature events paying $2,000 to win!
The USAC Indiana Sprint Week finale on Saturday night July 18th and the MSCS
Hoosier Sprint Nationals, two weeks later on August 1st, pay $5,000 to win. The 2015
USAC Indiana Sprint Week Champion will be crowned at Haubstadt. The biggest prize
that drivers will be competing for in 2015 at Tri-State Speedway will be at the Haubstadt
Hustler on Saturday night September 19th. That event is co-sanctioned with the USAC &
MSCS Sprints combining forces to run for $10,000 to win.
Fans planning to attend the Hoosier Sprint Nationals will be interested to learn that the
POWRi Midgets have been added to that program. That promises to be one of the most
exciting nights of racing that could be promoted. The POWRi Midgets will return for a
second visit on September 26th as part of the Fall Roundup with the MSCS Sprints.
One of the highlights of every season is the Labor DayWeekend Challenge at Tri-
State Speedway. It will be held on Sunday September 6th with the MSCS drivers
competing for $3,000 to win.
Tri-State Speedway will also host the MSCS season finale again this season. The
Harvest Cup feature winner on October 10th will also receive $3,000. Following the
racing that night, the new MSCS Champion and Rookie of the Year will be honored.
Kyle Cummins won the 2014 MSCS Championships and the title is his to defend in 2015.
He will be looking to earn an unprecedented fifth MSCS Crown.


Share |