Tri-State Speedway News & Publicity


Posted June 5, 2014

     Haubstadt, IN - June 4, 2014 - This Saturday June 7th Tri-State
Speedway will be presenting the Summer Showdown - DIRT Car Summit
Modified Nationals.  The racing  program  will also include an
appearance by the pro late models of the Quick Car Racing Products
Dirt Late Model Series.   Hot laps are at 6:30 with heat racing
beginning at 7:30 P.M.

     The Modified drivers will be competing for a $3,000 top prize.  The
feature event is the biggest paying race on this year’s Summit Racing
Equipment Modified Nationals schedule.  The ongoing series of open
wheel modified races does not conclude until July 19th.  By then
drivers will have had an opportunity to compete at 29 other tracks
for purses paying $1,000 or $1,500 to win!  The series will make a
second and return appearance at Tri-State Speedway on July 6th.

     Mike Harrison is the defending Summit Modified National Champion.  He
finished ahead of Rusty Griffaw, Jeff Curl, and Kenny Wallace in
2013.  Three drivers that compete at Tri-State Speedway regularly
finished in the top 20 in the series’ standings.  Levi Kissinger,
Tyler Nicely, and Trent Young were among the best of some 396
modified drivers who earned points over the six week tour.

    What makes the series unique is that DIRT car takes each driver’s best
8 finishes and an average of those points determines the champion.
Drivers can pick and choose races to balance the travel with work
responsibilities and still have a chance of becoming the champion.
That champion will take home a prize of $5,000 in 2014.  Plus there is
a contingency program totaling more than $50,000 in prizes and
products to be distributed during the series and at the awards

     Last year Devin Gilpin won the first Summer Showdown at Haubstadt.
There were 52 entries.  Levi Kissinger was second.  Kissinger already
has two wins at the track this year.

     The PCRA late models appeared at Tri-State Speedway for the first
time last season.  Since then they have picked up a new sponsor -
Quick Car Racing Products.  Drivers following the series are from
Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, and Tennessee.  These late models are
powered by factory sealed crate engines.

     Veteran Illinois late model driver Steve Lance leads the series
points by virtue of winning three of the four features held so far.
Jeremy McLaughlin won the other event.    Aaron Heck of Mt. Vernon,
IL, won last year’s 25 lap feature event.

     Drivers that are currently in the top five in points with the Quick
Car Dirt Late Model Series include Shawn Diggs, Dave Polok Jr., Chad
Osterhoff, and Doug Hayes.

Provided as News and Information for Tri-State Speedway


Share |